Home > Publicity > Press Releases > Article

Press Releases - Article

A free monthly e-letter with exclusive news, interviews, and excerpts.

SB Press Releases and Other News of Interest

Savas Beatie is pleased to provide media, book professionals, and other interested parties with digital content related to our books and authors. Please use the links below to access the material you need.




El Dorado Hills, CA, May 11, 2011 -- Savas Beatie, LLC, is proud to announce that the Civil War Round Table of Atlanta has awarded its 23rd annual Richard B. Harwell Book Award to David A. Powell for his book Failure in the Saddle: Nathan Bedford Forrest, Joseph Wheeler, and the Confederate Cavalry in the Chickamauga Campaign (Savas Beatie, 2010).

“We knew this book was special the moment it arrived in manuscript form,” noted managing director Theodore P. Savas, “and we are especially pleased for David Powell and everyone involved in this important project.”

Failure in the Saddle is the first book length study to examine the Confederate Cavalry operations during the Chickamauga Campaign. The book contains an analysis of previous historians’ opinions on the subject, maps, photographs, and a driving tour. The Failure in the Saddle book trailer is available here.

David A. Powell graduated in 1983 from Virginia Military Institute with a B.A. in history. His first book was The Maps of Chickamauga: An Atlas of the Chickamauga Campaign, Including the Tullahoma Operations, June 22 - September 23, 1863 (Savas Beatie, 2009). Powell has written articles for various magazines and has also earned a reputation as an excellent field guide for the Chickamauga Battlefield.

The Civil War Round Table of Atlanta has presented the Harwell Award annually since 1989 for the best book on a Civil War topic published in the preceding year. The Harwell Award honors the late Richard B. Harwell, a nationally recognized historian, librarian, bibliographer, and first president of the Atlanta Civil War Round Table. The award consists of a cash prize of $4,000 plus an engraved plaque recognizing the event. Previous winners include Earl J. Hess, Gary Gallagher, William C. Davis, James I. “Bud” Roberston, James McPherson, and Russell S. Bonds.

Powell will speak at the November 2011 meeting of the Atlanta Civil War Round Table, where he will be presented the award.

About Savas Beatie LLC:

Savas Beatie LLC is a leading military and general history publishing company. Visit the Savas Beatie website for more information.

Savas Beatie Contact:

Sarah Keeney, Marketing Director, Savas Beatie, LLC
Email: sarahs@savasbeatie.com
Phone: 916-941-6896 • Fax: 916-941-6895

Richard B. Harwell Book Award Contact:

Garry Barnes, Chairman Atlanta Civil War Roundtable
Email: glb5282017@aol.com
Visit the Atlanta Civil War Roundtable website for more information.