TABLE OF CONTENTS

Preface

x

Chapter 1: January-March, 1865

1

Chapter 2: Saturday, March 25, 1865

26

Chapter 3: Sunday, March 26, 1865

47

Chapter 4: Monday, March 27, 1865

64

Chapter 5: Tuesday, March 28, 1865

80

Chapter 6: Wednesday, March 29, 1865

89

Chapter 7: Thursday, March 30, 1865

105

Chapter 8: Friday, March 31, 1865

114

Chapter 9: Saturday, April 1, 1865

129

Chapter 10: Sunday, April 2, 1865

143

Chapter 11: Monday, April 3, 1865

159

Chapter 12: Tuesday, April 4, 1865

179

Chapter 13: Wednesday, April 5, 1865

199

Chapter 14: Thursday, April 6, 1865

210

Chapter 15: Friday, April 7, 1865

220

Chapter 16: Saturday, April 8, 1865

227

Chapter 17: Sunday, April 9, 1865

245

Epilogue

252

Appendix One: Sources Casebook

262

Appendix Two: Marine Muster Roll, USS Malvern

286

Chapter Notes

287

Bibliography

309

Acknowledgments

328

Index

331